

Annual General Meeting.

7th February, 2025 at 1.24pm.

MINUTES.

PRESENT:

Committee Members.
Lorna Bateman, acting Chair and Treasurer.
John P.Tighe., Secretary.
Julie Mc Bride, Social Secretary.

Members:

Peter Harris. Elizabeth Harris. Christopher Wallen. Thea Tushuizen. Geoff Worrall. Christmas Worrall. David Thomson. Brian Holt. Valerie Holt. Johanna Daniel. GeoffreyWright. David Austin. Mary Mullane. Alistair Munn. Moira Munn. Russell Malin. Dawn Malin. John London. Eddie Vine. Keith Boak. Alec Earnshaw. Robbie Hubbard. Gerry Flynn. Dean Lloyd. Lisa Lloyd. Kathleen Earnshaw. Gary Weston. Derek Mc Nulty. Kim Mc Nulty.

Proxy: Anne Wallen.

Also present: Senhor Antonio Pires. (Managing Director of Pedras da Rainha.)

The acting Chairman opened the meeting at 1.24pm., welcoming all present and detailed the apologies received.

- 1. Apologies from Anne Wallen and Joe Scott.
- 2. Minutes of the previous AGM, held on the 2nd February, 2024.
- 2.1 Approval

Acceptance of the minutes proposed by Gerry Flynn and seconded by Thea Tushuizen.

2.2. There were no matters arising.

2.3 Notification of the the resignations of the following Committee Members.

Alec Earnshaw.. Treasurer. Christine Martin...Chairman. Mark Richards...Club Captain.

2.4. Report by Social Secretary.

Julie Mc Bride reported that throughout the year the Club had successfully run many competitions and given prizes to winning Members and including prizes for best costume.

Julie announced that this year that the Valentine Day Competition will be held at 10..00am on the 14th February, with Geoff Wright Officiating. There will be a meal afterwards at the Boabab Restaurant.

St.Patricks Day Competition will be held on Monday, 17th March, 2025, with a meal afterwards at the Old Barrel.

There is now new memberships of three months, and six months available to all members this year.

3. Acting Treasurers report.

Lorna Bateman reported that the club's Finances had been audited by Alastair Munn on the 19th January, 2025, and certified as correct.

The balance in hand on that date was € 2,337.87c.

4. Election of Committee members.

Member Robbie Hubbard asked the Chair for permission to address the meeting before the election of its officers.

This was granted.

Robbie stated:

I would just like to to offer a quick thought before we elect our Committee for the coming year.

Please remember why we are electing them. It's to represent all Members and to run the Club.

Todays vote should be an endorsement of our confidence that they can do so.

So , having elected them , we all of us, should allow them to do just that.

Yes, there may be decisions we don't agree with, but there is a fair and proper route for raising these .

It is not an open forum. It's not to go around the committee to BA or even Antonio. It is through the Secretary, for discussion at a Committee Meeting.

Respect.

This is about respect and courtesy.

We have 3 committee members left out of nine elected.

This is not uncommon over recent years.

They are all voluntary and should not be subject to verbal or abuse.

Eddie Vine then asked why Thea Tushuizen, who had resigned from her previous post on the committee was now allowed to Stand for election.

The Secretary Informed him that Thea had not resigned from the Committee at the last AGM.

That she had in fact completed her two year term as the Clubs Treasurer and decided not to seek reelection.

Lorna Bateman, Julie Mc Bride and John Tighe, having been Elected for two years in the 2024 AGM, are prepared to remain in office.

The following have been nominated for election to the committee .

John London. (Proposed by John Tighe and seconded by Dean Lloyd)

Theodora Tushuizen. (Proposed by Lorna Bateman and Seconded by Julie Mc Bride)

The result of the votes cast for John London were

For. 26.

Against. 4.

Abstain. 0.

John London is duly elected to serve on the Committee for a period of two years.

Thea Tushuizen.

For. 24

Against. 4.

Abstain, 1.

Thea Tushuizen is duly elected to serve on the Committee for a period of two years.

Any other business.

Robbie Hubbard informed the meeting that he has been Investigating the cost, design etc., of purchasing Club Jackets for members. After a brief discussion it was agreed that this matter be referred to the new committee, with Robbie being asked to address same with his findings.

Dave Austin sought to have the new six month membership recently announced by the management be changed to allow time to be spread from one year into the following year.

Senhor Antonio, informed the meeting that the established Membership Fees since the Club as opened 16 years ago was for full annual and pay per play cards.

The annual membership runs from the 1st January to the 31st December, which is the Portuguese Financial Year.

This year after a request from members, the management agreed to introduce three and six months memberships.

The cost being based on a member being charged a fee on the basis of play being twice a week, but being allowed to play as Full Annual Member.

The introduction of these Fees involve extra costs by way of administration by his staff.

Apart from that, there may be a further price increases next year which are not now known and would complicate the Business Tax Returns.

Therefore the Fees announced with the time limits will remain.

Geoff Wright stated that Dave wants the fees to suit his personal Position.

John London informed the meeting that Pedras had for the third Year in a row won the Super Tens Algarve Competition and that the members who had participated would in due course be Presented with a Winners Medal.

Lorna Bateman on behalf of all the club members thanked Alistair Munn for his time and diligence in auditing the clubs Finances.

Lorna Bateman, on behalf of all the club members thanked Chris Wallen for his invaluable assistance in helping to run the AGM.

The meeting was closed at 1.46pm.

Submitted.

John P. Tighe, Club Secretary.